Liturgical Music and BooksShopping Cart
HomeLiturgicsWeb StoreCommunityVideosResourcesAbout Liturgica

Web Store

Music Search

Book Search

Gift Search

Byzantine Recommendations

Gregorian Recommendations

Russian Recommendations

Music History Recommendations

Contact Us

Content Search


Privacy & Security

Shopping Tips

Trade Accounts Access

Product Information
Cappella Romana The Divine Liturgy In English
Artist: Cappella Romana
Item number: AB103
Category: Byzantine
Chant Type: Byzantine
Language: English
Label: Cappella Romana
Period: Contemporary
Length: 107'10
Release date: 2008
Read a description or review of this item.

Price: $24.98 USD
This product usually ships on the next business day.

  Continue ShoppingPrevious Search Results
Track Listing
You may need RealPlayer or Windows Media Player to listen to the music samples below.
  1. Disc 1-Tr 1: Opening Blessing, Litany of Peace & Prayer of the First Antiphon MP3  
  2. Disc 1-Tr 2: First Antiphon MP3  
  3. Disc 1-Tr 3: Short Litany & Prayer of the Second Antiphon MP3  
  4. Disc 1-Tr 4: Second Atniphon MP3  
  5. Disc 1-Tr 5: Short Litany & Prayer of the Third Antiphon MP3  
  6. Disc 1-Tr 6: Third Antiphon MP3  
  7. Disc 1-Tr 7: Entrance with the Holy Gospel MP3  
  8. Disc 1-Tr 8: Apolytikia (of the day and of the local church) MP3  
  9. Disc 1-Tr 9: Kontakion of the Season MP3  
  10. Disc 1-Tr 10: Trisagion MP3  
  11. Disc 1-Tr 11: Dynamis of the Trisagion MP3  
  12. Disc 1-Tr 12: Prokeimenon MP3  
  13. Disc 1-Tr 13: Apostle MP3  
  14. Disc 1-Tr 14: Alleluiarion MP3  
  15. Disc 1-Tr 15: Gospel MP3  
  16. Disc 1-Tr 16: Litany of Fervent Supplication MP3  
  17. Disc 1-Tr 17 Litany for the Catechumens MP3  
  18. Disc 1-Tr 18: Litanies of the Faithful MP3  
  19. Disc 2-Tr 1: Cherubic Hymn-Opening MP3  
  20. Disc 2-Tr 2: Cherubic Hymn-The Great Entrance MP3  
  21. Disc 2-Tr 3: Cherubic Hymn-After the Entrance MP3  
  22. Disc 2-Tr 4: Litany of the Precious Gifts MP3  
  23. Disc 2-Tr 5: The Creed MP3  
  24. Disc 2-Tr 6: The Dialogue before the Anaphora MP3  
  25. Disc 2-Tr 7: The Anaphora MP3  
  26. Disc 2-Tr 8: Megalynarion & Conclusion of the Anaphora MP3  
  27. Disc 2-Tr 9: Litany of the Lord MP3  
  28. Disc 2-Tr 10: The Lord MP3  
  29. Disc 2-Tr 11: Communion of the Clergy/Antiphonal Psalm MP3  
  30. Disc 2-Tr 12: Communion of the Laity MP3  
  31. Disc 2-Tr 13: Alleluia MP3  
  32. Disc 2-Tr 14 O God save your people MP3  
  33. Disc 2-Tr 15 Blessed is our God MP3  
  34. Disc 2-Tr 16 Thanksgiving and Dismissal MP3  
  35. Disc 2-Tr 17 Prayer Behind the Ambo MP3  
  36. Disc 2-Tr 18 Final Dismissal MP3  
  37. Disc 2-Tr 19 Final Litany MP3  
This 2-CD set is Cappella Romana's much anticipated recording of the Divine Liturgy of St. John Chrysostom in English set to Byzantine chant. It employs the official translation of the Greek Orthodox Archdiocese of Thyateira and Great Britain, with traditional Byzantine chant hymns arranged by Nileus Kamarados, Petros Peloponnesios, St John Koukouzelis, and the balance contemporary arrangements in keeping with Byzantine tradition. This production includes the entire service, with all hymns, litanies, responses, prayers and Epistle and Gospel reading in English. The digipak is beautifully printed and includes a 40-page booklet that includes an annotated English text of the Divine Liturgy, as well as essays on Orthodox worship and Byzantine chant by the Very Rev. Archimandrite Ephrem (Lash), Alexander Lingas, and John Michael Boyer. Printed music in Byzantine and staff notation is available on the Cappella Romana web site. Includes entire hymn and service text in English.
ReviewBy: Benjamin Williams
This is a ground breaking production for a variety of reasons. First, it is that: the first complete recording of the Divine Liturgy of St. John Chrysostom in English. Second, it is the complete service, including all the prayers and readings. Third, it is based on a very good and approved English translation, and the Byzantine chant performance is based on sound musicology, principally the work of John Michael Boyer (Protopsaltes of the Greek Orthodox Metropolis of San Francisco). Of note is how seamlessly the ancient arrangements by famour Byzantine composer/arrangers fit into Boyer's contemporary arrangements of the balance of this sung service. American listeners may have a start at a few elements of the translation, such as "Holy God, Holy Strong, Holy Immortal" in the Trisagion, but the usage differences are few and minor. Recorded at Holy Rosary Church in West Seattle, the quality of the sound and engineering are top notch and crystal clear. Cappella Romana sings as expected, and the performance itself is solemn, stately and majestic, invoking the awe and grandeur implicit in the Divine Liturgy, while moving the listener ever upwards in praise and thanksgiving. This recording will go down as a monument of Byzantine musicology, and something every lover of Byzantine chant will want to listen to many times.

Copyright © 2000- All rights reserved.