Liturgical Music and BooksShopping Cart
HomeLiturgicsWeb StoreCommunityVideosResourcesAbout Liturgica

Web Store

Music Search

Book Search

Gift Search

Byzantine Recommendations

Gregorian Recommendations

Russian Recommendations

Music History Recommendations

Contact Us

Content Search


Privacy & Security

Shopping Tips

Trade Accounts Access

Product Information
Cappella Romana Lay Aside All Earthly Cares
Artist: Cappella Romana
Item number: AJ024
Category: Russian
Chant Type: Russian
Language: English
Label: Cappella Romana
Period: Contemporary
Length: 74'39
Release date: 2005
Read a description or review of this item.

This item is currently unavailable from the publisher

  Continue ShoppingPrevious Search Results
Track Listing
You may need RealPlayer or Windows Media Player to listen to the music samples below.
  1. Bless the Lord, O my soul MP3  
  2. O gladsome Light MP3  
  3. Lord, now let Thy servant MP3  
  4. Rejoice, Virgin Theotokos MP3  
  5. Praise the name of the Lord MP3  
  6. The Great Doxology MP3  
  7. Bless the Lord, O my soul MP3  
  8. The Second Antiphon MP3  
  9. Only begotten Son MP3  
  10. Holy God MP3  
  11. Alleluia, No. 1 MP3  
  12. Cherubic Hymn MP3  
  13. A mercy of peace MP3  
  14. It is truly meet MP3  
  15. Our Father/One is holy MP3  
  16. Praise the Lord from the heavens MP3  
  17. I will receive the cup MP3  
  18. Their proclamation has gone out MP3  
  19. Rejoice in the Lord MP3  
  20. Receive the Body of Christ MP3  
  21. Blessed be the name of the Lord MP3  
  22. Psalm 33 MP3  
  23. All of creation MP3  
  24. Troparion for the Sunday of Orthodoxy MP3  
  25. Let my prayer arise MP3  
  26. Now the Powers of heaven MP3  
  27. Taste and See MP3  
  28. Thy bridal chamber MP3  
  29. The wise thief, No. 2 MP3  
  30. The wise thief, No. 3 MP3  
  31. Let all mortal flesh MP3  
  32. What shall we call you, Mary MP3  
Fr. Sergei Glagolev has become well known in American Orthodox liturgical music circles for his ongoing work in the area of composing liturgical music for celebration in English. This recording by Cappella Romana, and under the auspices of PSALM (the Pan-Orthodox Society for the Advancement of Liturgical Music) captures much of his recent work. Includes complete liner notes with hymn text in English, and an essay "Some Personal Thoughts on the Composition of Liturgical Music" by Fr. Glagolev.
ReviewBy: Benjamin Williams
Fr. Glagolev has long been a teacher, musician and a proponent of the composition of liturgical music in English. The works on this CD can be considered seminal in the liturgical repertoire of American Orthodoxy. Drawing upon a variety of stylistic idioms, from Russian znamenny and common chant, to Byzantine chant and the works of Chesnokov and Gretchaninoff, Fr. Sergei Glagolev creates choral settings that employ the sound and cadence of the English language as their starting point, yet capture and remain true to the historic musical tradition of the faith. This recording was the result of great effort on the part of Dr. Vladimir Morosan of PSALM, Fr. Sergei himself, and Cappella Romana, and was made possible by a grant from the Virginia H. Farah Foundation. It is a worthy undertaking, a beautiful presentation, and with its high quality is hopefully the beginning of a new tradition of liturgical composition in English within the Orthodox churches.
Copyright © 2000- All rights reserved.